Parable of the Mustard Seed

Parable of the Mustard Seed

Parable of the Mustard Seed
Matthew 13: 31 He put before them another parable: “The kingdom of heaven is like a mustard seed that someone took and sowed in his field; 32 it is the smallest of all the seeds, but when it has grown it is the greatest of shrubs and becomes a tree, so that the birds of the air come and make nests in its branches.”

Questions for Reflection:
1. What is your first reaction to the Parable of the Mustard Seed?
2. How does this image of the kingdom of heaven compare with what you thought it would be like?
3. What is the significance of the mustard seed?
4. What do the different parts of the Parable represent: mustard seed, the person, the field, and the birds?
5. What are the action words or verbs in this Parable?
6. How would you construct a statement to encourage others seeking the kingdom of heaven using each of the verbs in this Parable?
7. What hope does this Parable offer the nations of the world?
8. What hope does this Parable offer the poor?

Prayer:
Lord, grant me faith like that of the mustard seed! Grow my faith that I may believe in season and out of season. Nourish my path with sunshine and pain. Teach me to grow through happiness and pain. Make me a better witness for you. Grant me the words, give me the state of mind, and grow within me the power of faith that I might see you in every situation, every person, and every hour of every day. Make me your drawstring that I might bring your word to every corner and every person in this world. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III
Pastor and Senior Minister
Plymouth United Church of Christ
600 E Warren Ave.
Detroit, Michigan 48201
http://www.puccdetroit.org
Additional Prayers at https://puccdetroit.wordpress.com/

About Nicholas Hood III Ministries

Senior Minister and Pastor of the Plymouth United Church of Christ in Detroit, Michigan USA - 600 E. Warren Ave., Detroit, Michigan 48201 - 313-831-2460 - nhoo996937@aol.com
This entry was posted in Daily Prayers and Meditations, Parable Prayers, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment