Selfie and the Soul

Image

The “Selfie” really came of age when the President of Denmark took out her cell phone at the funeral of Nelson Mandela and took a selfie President Obama and Prime Minister David Cameron of Brittan. Although many in the news media seemed to be caught off guard, and others thought it to be really “Cool”, for many others around the world, they were participating in an activity that takes place in almost every corner of the world – taking a picture of yourself and maybe a friend or two with your cell phone.

The “Selfie” is made possible by incredibly sharp, high megapixel cell phone cameras. Many of the modern cell phones have two or three times the number of megapixels as my Nikon D 7000 Camera. As I have considered the “Selfie” several thoughts come to the forefront.

First, the selfie is self-expression. It does not require a lot of money. It does not require the assistance of a professional – you just hold up your camera, point it at yourself and click the button. How you feel. How you look. Where you are, whom ever you are with – you can capture it all with your cell phone.

Next, the selfie is often a statement of one’s self-esteem. If you like how you look, you might take a picture of yourself. If the clothes you are wearing make you feel that you look good, you might take a picture.
Unlike the photos of old, these new photos often remain on one’s telephone-complete with large enough screens to share with anyone you might meet. You don’t have to pull out a photo album, you simply turn on your phone and you can share photos of yourself, your family, or anyone else who has made it to your cell phone memory card.

Some maintain that the selfie is an example of modern narcissism. While I would not discount that opinion, I think the phenomena is much deeper and not necessarily a bad thing. Self-esteem is important for emotional wellness. People who want to kill themselves usually do not feel good about who and what they are. I would imagine that most people who want to take a “selfie” feel positive about themselves. They feel good enough to want to capture the moment on their cell phone.

Some people do not want to have their picture taken because they believe that having a photo taken of them somehow might capture their soul.

To me, the soul is the essence of who we are. The body will age. Hair may turn gray and the scalp may bald, but the soul is still there! When we die, I believe the soul of a person is carried to God. The selfie is a snapshot of who you are at a given moment and place in time. The soul is timeless.

One of the most beautiful statements about how wonderful each of us is can be found in Psalm 139. Much of this psalm talks about the omnipresence, omniscience and omnipotence of God: God is everywhere, all knowing and all powerful. Buried within this great testimony to the power, knowledge and presence of God is a little statement of how wonderful human beings are. I encourage you to read the entire Psalm, but today, focus on verses fourteen and fifteen and see if it helps you to feel even better than you already do about yourself.

Psalm 139: 14 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.
Questions for Reflection:
1. What does this passage of scripture say to you?
2. What words of Jesus serve to help strengthen positive self-esteem?
3. How would you use this passage of scripture to encourage a person who was considering suicide, or simply very depressed?

Prayer:
Lord, I need you to remind me of wonderfully I am made! Teach me to feel good about myself, even in my imperfection! Help me to appreciate the unique blessings that each person possesses. Show me how to build upon the blessings you have bestowed upon me. Free me emotionally so I might allow the light within me to shine, that it might give glory and praise to you. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.
Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III
Photo by Nicholas Hood III of Brother Steve and Dad, taking “Selfies” at the IHOP
Additional prayers, photos and meditations from Rev. Hood at http://puccetroit.wordpress.com/

Note: I am preaching on “The Selfie and the Soul” Sunday, May 4, 3014. This sermon can be viewed at 8:30 AM EST online by going to Ustream.com (type in puccdetroit and you will be directed to the site. The sermon will also be archived at Ustream.com)

 

About Nicholas Hood III Ministries

Senior Minister and Pastor of the Plymouth United Church of Christ in Detroit, Michigan USA - 600 E. Warren Ave., Detroit, Michigan 48201 - 313-831-2460 - nhoo996937@aol.com
This entry was posted in Psalms, purpose and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Selfie and the Soul

  1. Andre Gilford Jr. says:

    Great article, Pastor. I never thought of selfies in this manner, but now I will. Everything has a reason and a purpose. Evaluating why we do what we do helps us to grow. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a comment