Known by God

 

Image
Psalm 139 TO THE CHOIRMASTER. A PSALM OF DAVID.
1 O LORD, you have searched me and known me!
2 You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
you discern my thoughts from afar.
3 You search out my path and my lying down
and are acquainted with all my ways.
4 Even before a word is on my tongue,
behold, O LORD, you know it altogether.
5 You hem me in, behind and before,
and lay your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is high; I cannot attain it.

Questions for Reflection:
1. What does this scripture say to you?
2. What do you think of the image of God knowing you better than you know yourself?
3. Does being known by God make you more or less comfortable with yourself?
4. How could you incorporate this passage of scripture to encourage others in their faith of God?

Prayer:
God, you know me better than I know myself! I cannot get away from you! If the darkness hides me, your light still is on me! In my moments of excellence and times of weakness, you are with me! I cannot get away from you! Your knowledge is too great. Your strength is too strong. Your compassion and mercy are reassuring. Bless me in my weakness. Direct me in your way. Keep me in your love. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III

Photo by Nicholas Hood III – “Noah at four on the Way to the Grand Canyon”
Additional Prayers Photos and Meditations from Rev. Hood at https://puccdetroit.wordpress.com/

 

About Nicholas Hood III Ministries

Senior Minister and Pastor of the Plymouth United Church of Christ in Detroit, Michigan USA - 600 E. Warren Ave., Detroit, Michigan 48201 - 313-831-2460 - nhoo996937@aol.com
This entry was posted in Prayers, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment