Your Time is Now!

Your Time is Now!

John 2 On the third day there was a wedding in Cana of Galilee, and the mother of Jesus was there. 2 Jesus and his disciples had also been invited to the wedding. 3 When the wine gave out, the mother of Jesus said to him, “They have no wine.” 4 And Jesus said to her, “Woman, what concern is that to you and to me? My hour has not yet come.” 5 His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.” 6 Now standing there were six stone water jars for the Jewish rites of purification, each holding twenty or thirty gallons. 7 Jesus said to them, “Fill the jars with water.” And they filled them up to the brim. 8 He said to them, “Now draw some out, and take it to the chief steward.” So they took it. 9 When the steward tasted the water that had become wine, and did not know where it came from (though the servants who had drawn the water knew), the steward called the bridegroom 10 and said to him, “Everyone serves the good wine first, and then the inferior wine after the guests have become drunk. But you have kept the good wine until now.” 11 Jesus did this, the first of his signs, in Cana of Galilee, and revealed his glory; and his disciples believed in him.
12 After this he went down to Capernaum with his mother, his brothers, and his disciples; and they remained there a few days.

Questions for Reflection:

1. What is your first reaction when reading this passage of scripture?
2. Why do you think Jesus told his mother “my hour has not yet come?”
3. What do you think about Mary telling the waiters to “do whatever he tells you,” even though Jesus has already said, “My time has not yet come?”
4. Has there ever been a time in your life when you did not think it “was your time?”
5. Thinking back on those times when you did not think you were ready, who or what prompted you to act?
6. After reading this text, what have you learned about Jesus, his mother, and their relationship?
7. What are the implications of this text for the world – particularly in the case of decision making on climate change, the saving of worldwide economies, and moving to a post-war world?

Pastoral Reflection:

Our scripture focus for today has always fascinated me because Mary the mother of Jesus seems to take the lead in offering the services of her son to save the day at a wedding reception where the host has run out of wine. Had the guests known the wine had run out, the host would have been embarrassed. Mary recognized the situation and took the initiative in volunteering Jesus. Mary does not boss Jesus. Mary does not nag Jesus. She simply says, they have run out of wine. Although Jesus is reluctant at first to get involved, he later transforms the water into wine. The wine he created was much better than the first pouring of wine! What are some of the lessons from this text? First, Jesus can do anything! Second, like Mary, you and I must learn to trust the power and authority of Jesus. Mary tells the waiters, “do what he tells you to do!” You and I need to learn to do what the Lord asks us to do! Another lesson from this text is that although Jesus did not think his time had come, his mother already knew he was ready! Sometimes in life it takes another person to give you the confidence and courage to step out in faith. I have found that often the confidence others have in us is all we need to motivate ourselves.

Even though I would describe myself now as self-confident on many levels, it was not always the case. Let me share with you one of those life defining moments when I did not think my time had come, but it had! One Saturday, while playing little league baseball on the Russell Woods Baseball Association in Detroit, Michigan, it was my turn to bat. The pitcher for the opposing team had a ferocious fast ball. He was physically large for his age. I first name was Donald. I never knew his last name. My friends and I called him, “Big Donald.” I was terrified at the thought of having to face his fast ball, but the game was on the line. “Big Donald” was having his way with my team. Dreading the moment, I walked to the plate like a prisoner walking to his execution. I was afraid “Big Donald: would strike me out. I was also afraid that if he didn’t strike me out he might bean me with his bullet-like fast ball. As he began his windup, his eyes became beady. His big leg was bent and lifted high. His pitching arm was now behind his back and coming over his head like a windmill with all of its force. He released the ball at what for me seemed like one hundred miles per hour! I bent my legs, brought the bat backwards, stepped into the pitch, swung my arms and closed my eyes and to my utter amazement, I hit the ball a county mile! I had hit off of “Big Donald”! I just stood at the plate watching the ball take off! My team was yelling for me to run, but I just stood there because I could not believe what I had done! Finally I started running and had to stop at third base. Had I not stood there looking my hit, it probably would have been a home run! What is the moral of the story? Often in life our time is ready before we know it! Even though Jesus was the son of God, he was also the son of Mary! The human in him doubted. The God in him changed water to wine. Thank God he had a mother who challenged him to realize that his time was now!

Prayer:

Lord, grant this day to each of us the self-confidence to trust you and the power you have invested in us. Teach us to listen to others, particularly those who love us and care for our well-being. Challenge us with your inspiration. Drive us with your motivation. And, whatever we do in life, may it be guided by love. Through Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior we pray. Amen.

Written by Rev. Dr. Nicholas Hood III
Pastor and Senior Minister
Plymouth United Church of Christ
600 E. Warren Ave. Detroit, Michigan 48201
https://puccdetroit.wordpress.com/
Photo: Nicholas Hood III

About Nicholas Hood III Ministries

Senior Minister and Pastor of the Plymouth United Church of Christ in Detroit, Michigan USA - 600 E. Warren Ave., Detroit, Michigan 48201 - 313-831-2460 - nhoo996937@aol.com
This entry was posted in Daily Prayers and Meditations, Prayers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment